Take A Chance

When I look back on my life, I see failure and success. Throughout my life, everything I touched turned to gold… for a short period, but then it fizzled out. Everything that I’ve ever put my mind to doing I’ve succeeded at, but the second I lost interest in it I failed. When I was younger I just moved on to something new, but as an adult I began to notice a recurring pattern in my life; I do what I’m good at until it gets hard, and then I give up.

I was great at BMX, I took Nationals at 11 years old, I was great, and I poured my heart and soul into it. I worked mowing lawns and doing extra chores for extra money at home to earn $500 to purchase a new bike, the GT Pro Series that I saw shining in the window of the local bike shop. After a year I had saved enough money to buy the bike, I bought it and within the first two months, it was stolen. Rather than overcoming the obstacle, I hung up my handlebars for good.

My BMX story was just an example of pretty much my entire life, basketball, martial arts, the military, EVERYTHING! I couldn’t fail when I set my mind to it, and all I could do was fail the second it got hard. As I aged and grew as a person I realized something, I am a very talented individual, and my work ethic was like no one I’d ever met, but if I’m not passionate about something I simply don’t care. My talent got me things; my work ethic kept them, but my lack of passion or purpose allowed my talent and worked ethic to slack off.

As an adult, I’ve done well at every job that I’ve had. I made a lot of money and had had a ton of success, but the second I felt like I’d done all I could do in that position I clocked out for good. It wasn’t until I went through the deepest depression that I’d ever been in and darkness that I wouldn’t wish upon my truest enemy that I found my passion and purpose for life.

I love to see other people succeeding, It give me an unexplainable gratitude to be a part of someone bettering themselves. I now spend every working hour of my day serving people; I am blessed enough to get paid to do what I love, to help other people become the best version of themselves. I’m at a place where my talent, work ethic, and passion all come together to create something special.

I took a chance on my heart, and ignored my mind, and for that, I’m truly grateful. That choice gave me the opportunity to live the life of my dreams. “You can fail at what you don’t want, so you might as well take a chance on doing what you love.” – Jim Carrey

Leave a Reply

