There’s No Success Like Failure

The word “failure” has such a negative connotation. When we think of the word “failure” we think of the opposite of success, but they are not antonymous. Failure is the making of success; failure is crawling before we walk. I love failure; it’s in those moments that we find out what we’re made of.

Anyone who knows me knows I love lifting weights, but I don’t actually love lifting weights, I love the results of it. Truth be told, when it’s time for my next training session there’s a small knot in the bottom of my stomach because I know that I am going to hate what I’m about to put myself through. It’s going to hurt, I’m going to be tired, I’m going to be sore, and it’s going to take everything I have mentally to force one more rep out when my muscles are pleading with me to stop… Failure, that moment that I’ve given everything I have, and it’s just not enough. All the pain, the soreness, the fatigue, sometimes nausea doesn’t matter because there’s a joy in knowing that I just gave everything I have, I left it all on the table, and tomorrow I’ll be stronger than I was today for it. Next time I will fail a little bit better, I’ll force a couple more reps, I’ll lift a little bit more weight.

Failure in life is no different than failure in the gym. If you want to be successful, you have to give until there is nothing left to give, and then give more. You have to understand that failure is not something that we should fear, it’s not something that should paralyze us. Failure should drive us; it should motivate us. Failure shows us how much we’ve grown; we can see how much better we’ve failed this time than last time. As long as you’re failing forward, and you’re growing, the failure is positive. It’s progression! Don’t be afraid to fail, don’t be afraid to struggle, don’t be scared to drop the weight. If you keep pushing, someday, you’ll lift the weight. But if you stop because you fail and give up, you’ll never know what it’s like to taste success. You can do it, believe in yourself, and command your body to give one more rep!

Leave a Reply

